13
Feb
10

I wish I had known these things when I was starting out

People always have different opinions as to what the biggest mistakes beginners make when they are trying to get a website to flourish. Obviously I am still working on getting a handle on this whole thing but I have definitely been doing this long enough to decide what were the biggest mistakes I have made. So here is a list of mistakes and failures I have come across since my first day “on” the Internet.

Mistake 1:

Try to learn everything before you work on your website. When I first started, I just read…. I would just get home from school and search for hours and hours about what to do to get a website off the ground. That will only get you so far.

In My Opinion: It is far better to read a little and implement what you learned. It is just too overwhelming to try and learn everything there is to know and then make a site and get everything done. It’s a step-by-step process. Especially the first site you make. The first one is basically a trial and error experiment.

Mistake 2:

Buy eBooks right from the beginning. Here’s the thing…. eBooks usually don’t have that much stuff in them that you can’t find somewhere for free. Most of them are just a way to lure you in and get your money. That being said, sure they’ll give you some information. And sure, they’ll help you out. This is not to say that they are never helpful, and never to subscribe to sites. BUT — it’s very important to make sure that what you are purchasing is worth your money.

In My Opinion: Get what you can for free. Most — if not all — of the basics can be learned for free. Learn what you can, get your site going. Communicate with people; they can be extremely helpful. If you feel like you are hitting a dead end. Maybe it’s time to start searching for some QUALITY information.

Mistake 3:

Cover your pages in AdSense. Generally… this won’t gain you traffic. That’s the content that will do that. Besides, if you use to much AdSense; that is giving people a bunch of different reasons to LEAVE your website. You want people to stay right?

In My Opinion: Personally I tried the AdSense thing. I made like 80 cents. Never got close to the $100 cap to get a pay out. If I stayed with that website until now could I have made a few bucks? Yeah maybe… not much though. I want readers to come to my site and stay long enough to read what I have to say! Not give them reasons to leave.

Good Luck!

-Matt

0 Responses to “I wish I had known these things when I was starting out”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

My Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


